Who I Am and Why I’m Here

OK. You might be wondering, “What is this blog? And who is this guy?”

Hi, I am Natso. I live in Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia. I have been trying to commit to writing for a while and only recently am I joining a Daily Post 30 day challenge called Blogging 101. That’s right. For the next 30 days, you’re going to see a new post every morning.

What would I write about?
Well, I think I ‘ll write for the sake of writing mostly, but I also became a Co-CEO of an NGO, so you can read about my experience of setting up a “legal entity” in Mongolia. Note how I am not saying a “startup”. That’s because I am not much of an entrepreneur, that thing is risky.
I also have been trying to write stories in English. Yeah, I only have few short stories and I already got few rejections. Let’s see, from Buzzy Mag, Orson Scott Card’ Intergalactic Medicine Show and Far East Enough. I think I’m missing a place. But I have some projects going on that might fare better.

I also like to read, so I’ll write about some interesting things I find out. For instance, I am in the middle of two books, Hemingway’s Farewell to Arms and Account of James Gilmore’s Mission in Mongolia.
While reading Farewell to Arms, I realized I would understand the book better if I had visited Italy. Because the book had a lot of Italian words about wines, breads and stuff. Also, this is my first book by Hemingway, and I’m not sure if I like his style. It sure is punchy though.

On the next book, Gilmore’s a Scottish Christian missionary who lived in Mongolia during the dawn of the 20th century. I found the book while scouting Gutenberg for anything related to Mongolia. It’s basically a tribute to the missionary, but the passing mentions of Mongolians gives me ideas about life in 1900s.

That’s about it, I guess. Writing, heading an NGO and reading. If you want to ask me questions, criticize or commend me, go ahead and leave a comment. I’ll take it all with thick skin. (Ah, who am I kidding, I’ll mope about it all day) If you want to follow me or whatever, I guess hit on the follow button. And I’m writing this from my phone in the morning with no editing so apologies on formatting and sloppy writing.

Have a nice day, I guess.

2 thoughts on “Who I Am and Why I’m Here

  1. Hi Natso. I am a fellow writer who just started with Blogging 101. So interesting that you are in Mongolia. Are you a native of Mongolia? You could be the one to write a book about your own country instead of reading about missionaries.

    • Thank you for the kind words, Deborah. Yes, I was born and raised in Mongolia. Writing a book about Mongolia has indeed been a dream of mine for a long time. In fact, I picked up Gilmour’s book to do research on the early 20th century life.

Leave a Reply

